How to deactivate or delete a portal?

If a portal is deactivated, there are only the background processes deactivated.

This means, that processes in the background like system emails, reminders, etc., don't run anymore. The portal is still visible.

You have to delete a portal to make it invisible or as an alternative solution you can display a maintenance screen.